Back to All Events

Italian Feast of the Seven Fishes

with Chef Lisa Lavagetto

The Feast of the Seven Fishes is an Italian-American celebration of Christmas Eve with meals of fish and other seafood. The meal may include nine specific fishes that are considered traditional.

The most famous dish for Southern Italians is baccalá (salted cod fish). The custom of celebrating with a simple fish such as baccalá reflects customs in what were historically impoverished regions of Southern Italy, as well as seasonal factors. Fried smelts, calamari and other types of seafood have been incorporated into the Christmas Eve dinner over the years.

Calamari Salad with Green Olives and Roasted Red Peppers
Octopus Affogatto with Linguini
Salmon en Croute- Salmon Filets in Golden Puff Pastry
Zucchini with Anchovies and Capers
Lemon Panna Cotta